Hills Bank Leadership Grant

The Leadership Grant deadline is March 1, 2017!

The Hills Bank and Trust Company Leadership Grant is awarded to as many as 20 students each year. The recipients, who apply during their junior year in high school, attend nine hours of leadership training sponsored by Hills Bank and Trust Company during their senior year. They receive $1,000 for the fall semester of their first year of college. The scholarship may be used at any of Iowa’s accredited universities, colleges, or community colleges.

High School Juniors residing in or attending high school in the following counties:
Benton • Cedar • Iowa • Johnson • Jones • Keokuk • Linn • Louisa • Muscatine • Washington

Grant Details
Grants are available to students attending any of Iowa’s accredited colleges, universities, or community colleges. Each grant will total $1,000 with $500 to be paid each fall semester of the qualifying recipient’s first two years of college. A total of 20 grants will be awarded each year.

Selection Criteria
Applicants are evaluated on involvement in:

  • Community service
  • Student group activities
  • Work experience
  • High school academic information, including G.P.A. of 2.80 or higher

Recipients of this grant, applying during their junior year of high school, agree to attend a minimum of nine hours of Hills Bank sponsored Leadership Training during their senior year of high school.

How to apply:

  1. Complete and submit the application by March 1.
    (Please note you will need to register for an account, but do not need to be a 4-H member to apply.)
  2. Submit a high school transcript.
  3. Provide two letters of recommendation.

For complete details and an application visit the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach or contact:

Iowa 4-H Foundation
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-3630
Phone: 515-294-1537
Fax: 515-294-1047

2016 - 2017 Leadership Grant Award Winners

The 2016 - 2017 Leadership Grant Award winners are Broderick Bohr (Cedar Rapids Prairie), Larame Boysen (Wapello), Jessie Buchholz (Washington), Jack Carter (Washington), Erin Chalupa (Keota), Noah Feldman (West Liberty), Carl Gerhold (Benton), Kylie Holubar (Solon), Jemimah Ilunga (Cedar Rapids Prairie), Gabrielle Klemme (Iowa City West), Devin Lansing (Cedar Rapids Xavier), MaKayla Lindemann (Solon), Julianne Maxwell (Iowa City City High), Katelyn Murhammer (Iowa City Regina), Noland Osland (Muscatine), Elena Sieverding (Lone Tree), Lesley Svatosch (Lisbon), Cole Yoder (IMS), and Rachel Zumbach (North Linn).