Leadership Grant

Leadership Grant

The 2022 - 2023 Leadership Grant Award winners are: Brooklyn Buysse, West Liberty High School; Rylee Cole, Louisa-Muscatine High School; Hayden Crow, Clear Creek Amana High School; Ava Dimmer, Mount Vernon High School; Claire Gaffney, Mount Vernon High School; Taylor Garman, Keota High School; Brooke Gonzalez, Iowa City Regina; Lindsey Hospodarsky, Alburnett Community High School; Morgan Link, Solon High School; Rylee Lueken, Prairie High School; Tye Miller, West Liberty High School; Aidan Quinlan, Iowa Valley Junior-Senior High School; Ally Rees, Washington High School; Bailey Rees, Washington High School; Avery Schultes, West Branch High School; Ava Scranton, Anamosa High School; Mariana Stevenson, Williamsburg Jr/Sr. High School; Ethan Strecker, Prairie High School; Nesse Tuttle, Iowa Valley High School; Wyatt Williams, Iowa City Liberty.

The Leadership Grant is a scholarship awarded to college-bound high school students across Southeast Iowa.

The Leadership Grant deadline is March 1, 2023!

The Hills Bank Leadership Grant is awarded to as many as 20 future leaders each year. The recipients, who apply during their junior year in high school, attend nine hours of leadership training sponsored by Hills Bank during their senior year. These students then receive $1,000 total for their first two fall semesters of college at any of Iowa’s accredited universities, colleges, or community colleges.


High school juniors residing or attending high school in the following counties are eligible:

  • Benton
  • Cedar
  • Iowa
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Keokuk
  • Linn
  • Louisa
  • Muscatine
  • Washington

Grant Details

Grants are available to students attending any of Iowa’s accredited colleges, universities, or community colleges. Each grant will total $1,000, with $500 to be paid each fall semester of the qualifying recipient’s first two years of college. A total of 20 grants will be awarded each year.

Selection Criteria

Applicants are evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Community service
  • Student group activities
  • Work experience
  • High school academic information, including a GPA of 2.80 or higher


Recipients of this grant, applying during their junior year of high school, agree to attend a minimum of nine hours of Hills Bank-sponsored Leadership Training during their senior year of high school.

How to apply

To apply for the Leadership Grant, high school juniors in a qualifying county should:

  1. Complete and submit the application by March 1. (Please note you will need to register for an account, but do not need to be a 4-H member to apply.)
  2. Submit a high school transcript.
  3. Provide two letters of recommendation.

For complete details and an application visit an Iowa State University Extension and Outreach office or contact:

Iowa 4-H Foundation
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-3630
Phone: 515-294-1537
Fax: 515-294-1047