Hills Bank Online

ID: Password:
Online Banking Help Online Banking Demo

Online Investments Login

Application Center

Please select the account application that you are
interested in.

Life Stages
School Years

Getting Started Lifestages
Click on the Life Stages tab
above and get started to learn to manage money and prepare for the cost of higher education, a new vehicle, or for whatever your future might bring.

Grants / Scholarships

Hills Bank Leadership Grant

The Hills Bank and Trust Company Leadership Grant is awarded to as many as 20 students each year. The recipients, who apply during their junior year in high school, attend nine hours of leadership training sponsored by Hills Bank and Trust Company during their senior year. They receive $1,000 the first year of college. The scholarship may be used at any of Iowa’s accredited universities, colleges, or community colleges.

High School Juniors residing in or attending high school in the following counties:
Benton • Cedar • Iowa • Johnson • Jones • Keokuk • Linn • Louisa • Muscatine • Washington

Grant Details
Grants are available to students attending any of Iowa’s accredited colleges, universities, or community colleges. Each grant will total $1,000 paid the fall semester of the qualifying recipient’s first year of college. A total of 20 grants will be awarded each year.

Selection Criteria
Applicants are evaluated on involvement in:

    • Community service
    • Student group activities
    • Work experience
    • High school academic information, including G.P.A. of 2.80 or higher

Recipients of this grant, applying during their junior year of high school, agree to attend a minimum of nine hours of Hills Bank sponsored Leadership Training during their senior year of high school.

How to apply:

    1. Complete and submit the application by February 1, 2014.
    2. Submit a high school transcript.
    3. Provide two letters of recommendation.



Youth Salute leadership awards presented to local high school seniors

Area high school seniors were recognized with Youth Salute leadership awards, sponsored by Hills Bank and Trust Company, Sunday, September 8th at the Englert Theatre, Iowa City. Almost 250 students from 16 area high schools including City High, Clear Creek Amana, English Valleys, Highland, Iowa Mennonite, Iowa Valley, Lisbon, Lone Tree, Mid-Prairie, Mount Vernon, Regina, Solon, Washington (IA), West Branch, West High, and Williamsburg were honored for their academic achievement and leadership contributions. Students were selected by their high school faculty to receive the prestigious award. 

The ceremony included American Paralympic ski racer, Josh Sundquist. At age nine Josh was diagnosed with a rare form of bone cancer and given a fifty percent chance to live. He spent a year on chemotherapy treatments and his left leg was amputated. Doctors declared Josh cured of the disease at age thirteen and he took up ski racing three years later. He trained for the next six years and in 2006 he was named to the US Paralympic Ski Team for the 2006 Paralympics in Turino, Italy. Since then, Josh has become a bestselling author and motivational speaker for Fortune 500 companies, inner city public schools, and even the White House.

Recognized as Outstanding Youth Leaders were Cassidy Bringle (City High), and Blake Oetting (West High). Each will attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Town Meeting on Tomorrow, an event that brings together youth leaders with diverse backgrounds from across the nation. Runner-up Outstanding Youth Leaders were Stephen Bork (West High) and Soumba Traore (City High). Other local leadership award winners included Cassandra Adamson (Williamsburg), Cory Brannaman (Mount Vernon), Isaac Clough (City High), Laura Deininger (Mount Vernon), Seth Eash (Mid-Prairie), Elena Foster (City High), Emma Greenberg (City High), Neil Harte (City High), Devin Hedlund (West High), Anna Johnson (Clear Creek Amana), McKenna Kilburg (Lisbon), Hilah Kohen (West High), Carson Kuntz (Mount Vernon), Ryan Miller (Regina), Tempest Montgomery (English Valleys), Dallas Nye (Iowa Mennonite), Dakota Olson (English Valleys), Mary Rethwisch (City High), Velarchana Santhana (West High), Spencer Shalla (Mid-Prairie), Tyhesia Simpson (Clear Creek Amana), Ty Stender (Washington), Edgar Thornton (City High), Shirley Wang (West High), Emma Wortman (City High), Hanna Yowell (Regina), and Lilian Zhu (West High). 

Youth Salute is a program of the National Council on Youth Leadership (NCYL) and is locally sponsored for the 19th year by Hills Bank and Trust Company. The NCYL is guided by the vision of making tomorrow’s world better by developing leaders today. The council’s mission is to assist communities to applaud, encourage, and provide opportunity for the leadership development of their youth.

View a complete list of Youth Salute Participants.

Spacer Image